Transportation is generally available weekdays for doctors’ appointments, therapy, medical tests, senior day care, kidney dialysis, cancer treatments and meal site lunches. Call RIde approximately three to four weeks prior to appointments at 461-9760 or 1-800-479-6902.
These communities provide additional transportation for their senior residents:
Rhode Islanders with disabilities of all ages may be eligible for Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Paratransit Services from the Rhode Island Public Transit Authority (RIPTA) curb-to-curb transportation service to people with disabilities which prevent them from using regular RIPTA bus service. This service is provided along existing RIPTA service corridors at a cost of twice the standard bus rate for all riders. Apply by calling 784-9500.
RIPTA Bus Passes cost residents 65 or older $5 and are valid for 5 years. Qualified riders who have a disability pay $2 for their 2-year pass. Pass holders pay half-fare on off-peak hours, weekends, and holidays. Bus pass holders enrolled in Medical Assistance (Medicaid) or RIPAE or who have incomes within the RIPAE limit, may apply for the No Fare program and ride free during all hours. Call RIPTA at 784-9500 x 604 for details.
For additional information on RIPTA programs, you can go to their web site at www.ripta.com.
The Department of Human Services will help persons who are enrolled in Medicaid arrange suitable non-emergency transportation for covered services. Call 784-3899.
A Rhode Island Government Website
Certain website content provided by the Brain Injury Resource Center of Rhode Island